PhD in E-Planning


PhD in E-Planning


Joint program of the University of Lisbon (UL), the Universidade Nova de Lisboa (UNL) and the University of Aveiro (UA).

It became operational in the academic year 2009/2010. The minimum number of credits for the degree is 180 (3 years).



The operating system differs depending on the courses. The mandatory courses and the ones taught jointly by several institutions have a classroom component and a distance teaching component. Optional courses operate usually in attendance at the host institution, and in education schemes for distance students enrolled in another of the consortium institutions.

Tuition fee

Portuguese students:

2 750 Euros/ year

Foreign students:

2 750 Euros/ year


1st phase: 27th April to 16th July
2nd phase: 30th august to 30th september


Entrance requirements for the 2021/2022 academic year

Vacancies for 2021/2022:

15 (total number of vacancies for the three involved institutions)

Admission rules:

Admission rules:
They are admitted in this study cycle the candidates that:

a)  Hold a of Master's degree or legal equivalent;

b)  Hold a Bachelor degree and have a particularly relevant academic or scientific curriculum that is recognized as attesting the capacity to accomplish this cycle of studies by the Scientific Council;

c) Holders of a foreign academic degree that is recognized as meeting the objectives of the master's degree by the legal and statutorily competent scientific body of the university they wish to be admitted;

d) Holders of a foreign academic degree that is recognized as meeting the objectives of the master's degree by the legal and statutorily competent scientific body of the university they wish to be admitted;

Place and application:

The application is made at the host institution (FC-UL, FCT NOVA or AU) which must check that the applicant meets the set out conditions in legislation and regulations.


Necessary documentation for the application process:
a) Identity card / passport or citizen's card;

b) Photography;

c) Degree certificate, master's or equivalent degree; 

d) School scientific or professional curriculum, with copies of the documents to which it refers;

e) Letter of application / motivation to attend the course.


The Scientific Committee is responsible for the candidates’ selection for the Doctoral Program in e-Planning;

The candidates’  selection for the Doctoral Program in e-Planning will be carried out by its scientific committee, with the agreement of each candidate host institution;

In the candidates’ selection and ranking to the frequency of this study cycle there will take place an overall evaluation of the candidates’  experience;

An interview with the applicant can occur if the Scientific Committee of the Program or the host institution's thinks it should take place;

Admission and candidate registration are carried out by the respective host institution.

Course coordinator:

Professor João Joanaz de Melo

Registration and Accreditation


Registration number R/A-Cr 94/2014/AL03 on 18/02/2021


Publication date of the accreditation decision: 31/07/2019

for 1 year

About the Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

The Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering (DCEA) at FCT NOVA started in 1976, with the launching of the Environmental Engineering course, a first of its kind worldwide. Over the past 40 years, DCEA has been able to adapt to the extraordinary evolution in this area, expanding the scope and expertise to tackle new environmental and sustainability challenges of the 21st Century. DCEA provides several courses (bachelor, master and doctoral courses) in the broad area of environment and sustainability, guided by scientific and technical quality, preparing the students for the national and international markets. DCEA also promotes R&D, assumed as a key pillar of teaching, by supporting national and international projects and an extensive network of collaboration with industry and public administration. DCEA coordinates several education programmes under the EIT Climate-KIC, namely the Journey, the Climate Innovation Leadership program and Pioneers in Practice.  

More info