Ferreira da Silva Award 2022 attributed to José Moura


In February 2023, José Moura, professor and researcher from the Department of Chemistry at NOVA FCT, was announced as the winner of the Ferreira da Silva Award 2022. On July 24th, the professor received the award during the ceremony of the National Meeting of the Portuguese Society of Chemistry (SPQ), which took place in Aveiro.

Established by the Portuguese Chemistry Society (SPQ) in 1981, this award aims to recognize Portuguese chemists who, through their scientific work produced in Portugal, have significantly contributed to the advancement of Chemistry in any of its areas.

José Moura has developed a pioneering, prestigious and extensive scientific work, nationally and internationally renowed. He was one of the leading figures responsible for the birth of Bioinorganic Chemistry in Portugal and actively contributed to the consolidation of this new area of knowledge at an international level. The numerous PhD theses produced under his guidance attest the "scientific school" he initiated and his regular presence in national and international conferences as a guest speaker confirm, in addition to the excellence of his research, that he is a brilliant communicator of science. With an enormous sense of mission, he has served in various bodies of the Faculty and in the teaching profession, where he stood out as an inspiring teacher. Currently, he directs the FCT NOVA Library, where he has developed numerous activitiesto promote scientific culture and the union between Art and Science.