About FCT

About FCT

Scientific Council


The Scientific Council is composed of 25 representatives elected by all

  1. Professors and Career Researchers and other Professors and Researchers working with the Faculty in full time basis, with contracts of at least one year. Both must have a Doctor Degree, whatever the nature of their relationship to the institution;
  2. Representatives of recognized and evaluated research units, rated higher than or “Equal” or “Good”, by the Ministry competent for these kinds of competences.

Representatives of the Research Centers

  • Professor João Paulo Crespo, General Coordinator of the Research Centres
  • Professor Luís Caires
  • Professor Maria João Romão 

Representatives of Academic Staff and Researchers

  • Professor Luís Camarinha-Matos
  • Professor Paulo da Costa Luís da Fonseca Pinto
  • Professor Luís Caires
  • Professor Maria João Romão
  • Professor Jorge Orestes Lasbarrères Cerdeira
  • Professor José Paulo Santos
  • Professor Paulo Manuel Assis Loureiro Limão Vieira
  • Professor Maria João Seixas de Melo
  • Professor Válter José da Guia Lúcio
  • Professor Júlia Maria Nunes Loureiro Vaz de Carvalho
  • Professor António José Freire Mourão
  • Professor  José António de Almeida
  • Professor Nuno Manuel Ribeiro Preguiça
  • Professor João Alexandre Carvalho Pinheiro Leite
  • Professor Maria Helena Figueiredo Godinho
  • Professor Maria Júlia Fonseca de Seixas
  • Professor Leonor Miranda Monteiro do Amaral
  • Professor Pedro António de Brito Tavares
  • Professor Pedro Manuel Cardoso Vieira
  • Professor Ana Luísa Almaça da Cruz Fernando
  • Professor Teresa Maria Alves Casimiro Ribeiro

Substitute Members

  • Professor Fábio Chalub
  • Professor Maria Celeste Jacinto
  • Doutora Ana Luísa Carvalho


As indicated in the Statutes of FCT NOVA, The Scientific Council must:

  1. Prepare its regulations;
  2. Assess the scientific activity plan of FCT NOVA;
  3. Issue pronouncements on the creation, modification and/or extinction of departments and research units;
  4. Decide upon the teaching load assigned to academic staff, subjecting it to the Dean’s approval; 
  5. Issue pronouncements regarding the creation of courses, and approve the study plans of the courses offered at FCT NOVA;
  6. Propose or decide upon the conferral of titles and/or honorific distinctions, by a two-thirds majority of its members;
  7. Propose or decide upon the establishment of scholarly awards;  
  8. Propose or decide upon the establishment of international agreements and/or partnerships;  
  9. Propose the composition of juries for academic examinations and evaluations;  
  10. Perform other duties prescribed by the law applicable to academic and research staff, including the recruitment of said staff; 
  11. Issue pronouncements on the nomination of Program Coordinators and Scientific Committees.



Building I - 1st Floor

Vice-Dean for the Scientific Council:

Professor Maria do Rosário de Meireles Ferreira Cabrita

Postal address:

Scientific Council
Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia
Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Campus de Caparica
2829-516 Caparica


Amila Resende



(+351) 212 948 538

15101/2 (internal number)

MORe info